Shout Out Louds: They’ll have hair and bare feet

 

It seems that summer has got to me. Eschewing my normal desire for the moody and the sombre I’ve gone and bought an album brimful of sun-soaked pollen-flecked melodies and ice cream sticky Indie jangliness. In fact, Our Ill Wills from Swedish The Shout Out Louds will be my summer album, akin to Bernard Black’s summer girl:

“I’ve got to get a girlfriend, just for the summer, until this wears off. She’ll be a summery girl. She’ll have hair. She’ll have summery friends who know how to be outside. She’ll play tennis and wear dresses and have bare feet, and in the autumn, I’ll ditch her, because she’s my summer girl!”

I’ve not read another review of this yet, but if opener ‘Tonight I Have to Leave it’ hasn’t been likened to The Cure’s ‘In-between Days’ then I’ll imbibe a tube of factor 15 Ambre Solaire (or something).

There are probably more things I could say about this album but me mate has just called for a kick-about in the rec.

So stick these on and open up the windows to get some air in:

Tonight I Have to Leave it

You are Dreaming

Time left for Love

Get a summer fix from this lot here 

angrybonbon 

About angrybonbon

Both Bars On's Manchester correspondent

Posted on May 16, 2008, in Album reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I am liking your work and I think you have just coined a new genre. Strangely i was listening to ‘Tonight…’ on the ipod the other day and thinking ‘this is good, where the hell did i get that?’ And yes the Cure thing is very obvious now you point it out. But more importantly, this isn’t like you, summer or no (in this part of the world it’s currently no): summery indie jangle? Are we ready for that Razorcuts retrospective yet? 🙂

  2. Steady on lad…I may be suffering from hayfever big time this year but that doens’t mean my judgement has been clouded enough for the Razorcuts.

    I can do happy you know…Spree, DC….ummm……

Leave a comment