Lightning Bolt: Earthly Delights

Welcome back to my favourite noise-something bass/drums duo, Lightning Bolt. Listening to this is an extraordinary experience – how can it be so simple and so complicated? Jaw-dropping drumming, super-heavy riffs, vocal melodies a plumber could whistle… It’s perhaps a bit more metal, if that’s the word, than Hypermagic Mountain in places (‘Nation of Boar’, bloody hell) but it also feels like a more varied album – along with the ecstatic/primal 12 minute speaker-knackering freakouts (‘Transmissionary’) there’s the beautiful tweetery snippet ‘Rain On Lake I’m Swimming In’.

I’m listening now and I’m not sure whether I’m hearing sounds I’ve never heard before, or if that’s just my ears giving up. This is my commuting music at the moment, and I imagine it’s what the inside of my head looks like right now. Highly recommended.

Colossus‘ – Lightning Bolt – Earthly Delights

Rain On Lake I’m Swimming In‘ – Lightning Bolt – Earthly Delights

Go and see them at ATP or on the dates here. And have a look at this. And buy it from Fopp – I did and I discovered a fellow Lightning Bolt fan.

JKneale

About jkneale

BothBarsOn's London correspondent.

Posted on December 3, 2009, in Album reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Yes, Yes, Yes. How did this lot pass me by? That Colosus track is, well, colossal! Brilliant.

  2. Just got tickets to see them in Salford next week, so I’m excited about that. I know them mainly by reputation though, so I’m not really familiar with their recorded music.

  3. Their reputation is fearsome enough, Neil – even if you hate what you hear here it should be an experience alright…

  4. Great blog! I found you through your Bill Fay post from last year. Keep up the great work!

  5. Thanks Eric, feel the same way about CYSTSFTS and am amazed to see it wasn’t on the blogroll. It is now! Glad you like Bill Fay… there’s not that much up about him, even now.

Leave a Reply

