I Don’t Want To Move On: Bob Mould, Koko

We often end up looking back on this blog. This gig was a case in point, because on this tour Bob Mould seems happy to play material not just from his solo records and Sugar, but from Hüsker Dü as well, just as he does on the excellent live DVD. I was in seventh heaven – I like the solo stuff (the most recent, District Line, is fine), but my god I love the older stuff. I can’t be certain of the setlist, but he started with ‘The Act We Act’. followed by ‘A Good Idea’. Not bad. More Sugar (‘Hoover Dam’, ‘If I Can’t Change Your Mind’), plus ‘I Hate Alternative Rock’, ‘Circles’, ‘Hanging Tree’ and more from solo albums… and then ‘New Day Rising’, ‘I Apologise’ and ‘Divide and Conquer'(!).

Then he played ‘Celebrated Summer’, probably my favourite song of all time, and it was just brilliant. At this point I turned to Al and said, jokingly, “He might as well play ‘Chartered Trips’ now”, thinking that he might draw the line at Zen Arcade’s intense shredders, but he bloody well played it. And it sounded fearsome, ending in a blur of guitars and screaming. He still does that weird running about while he’s playing, which I (still) find tremendously affecting – he obviously gets carried away with it, even after all these years.

So yes, a night for nostalgia. Some of the crowd were older than me, god bless ’em. Bob asked if anyone had been there last time, when it was the Camden Palace and Hüsker Dü played in 1985 (recorded for TV, recently out on DVD). I wasn’t there, but I was at the Electric Ballroom just up the road less than a year later. And really I know we should find new stuff, not bang on about how things are terrible now, but I don’t want to move on. My celebrated summer involved listening to that song and this music shaped a good deal of my taste, and who I am, I guess. For better or worse.

So watch, listen, and wonder, younglings. This is how it’s meant to be done.

Hüsker Dü, Camden Palace 1985: ‘New Day Rising’, ‘It’s Not Funny Anymore’. Proper Moshing:

I Hate Alternative Rock‘ – Bob Mould – Bob Mould

Chartered Trips‘ – Hüsker Dü – Zen Arcade

Celebrated Summer‘ live – Hüsker Dü – The Living End

Buy Bob Mould, Sugar, Hüsker Dü here.

JKneale

About jkneale

BothBarsOn's London correspondent.

Posted on May 28, 2008, in Gig reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I raise a glass to you Sir.

  2. Just got an email from the Academy group advertising the ‘Bob Mauld Group’ – some sort of tribute band??? ;-]

  3. Well played! You posted the post that’s been in my head for about a year now, but which I haven’t been able to pull the trigger on. I look forward to linking your post, here, once I get off my arse and talk about the 1996 solo show of Bob’s I saw at the 9:30 Club.

  4. Thanks Rikki – look forward to reading it. Liked the Fugazi post too!

  1. Pingback: Hoodoo Gurus, Kentish Town Forum « Both bars on

Leave a Reply

