Worth waiting for: MGMT, Astoria

Well. If you think Kate Nash is irritating, avoid Florence and the Machine like the plague. My teeth are still grinding. It was so awful that I was driven to heckle. Anyway thank god for MGMT and their charisma and decent songs. Plus something for the ladies – a bit of bare chest (visible above). I’ve been playing this record to death but I wasn’t sure how it would work live. After all, it is quite mixed- the smart lyrics and pop hooks of ‘Time to Pretend’, the reedy Neil Young of ‘Pieces of What’, the Lips-ish cloak rock of ‘4th Dimensional Transition’. But it all sounded great. Of course they ran out of material – early days yet after all – but the rough-and-ready semi-improvised finale gave them another chance to do the party thing. I liked it. One band that deserves the hype, then.

Time To Pretend – MGMT – Oracular Spectacular

Pieces of What – MGMT – Oracular Spectacular

4th Dimensional Transition – MGMT – Oracular Spectacular

Buy here

Photo by Siobhan

Jkneale

About jkneale

BothBarsOn's London correspondent.

Posted on May 24, 2008, in Gig reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I enjoyed MGMT greatly although I far prefer their poppier stuff to their 1970’s Hawkwind noodlings. At the more prog rock moments I felt it was a bit like watching children copying the grownups.

    Florence and the Machine were dreadful. Just dreadful.

  2. I like the ‘Wind, as you know, and enjoyed those bits because it probably baffled the big sunglasses crowd. Sorry for heckling…

  3. I enjoyed the heckling immensely. you should do more of it.

  4. I’ve read some bad reviews of their encore twiddlings round the tinterweb – but I like twiddlings so would work for me. Looking forward to seeing them at a certain cricket ground gig soon-ish.

  5. MGMT and Bat For Lashes – a good gig and an early exit? 🙂

  1. Pingback: Radiohead/Bat for Lashes/MGMT: LCC 29th June « Both bars on

  2. Pingback: “Kings of Noodling”: MGMT, Manchester Academy 11/11/08 « Both bars on

Leave a Reply

